Jess HartleyEvery now and then, when I’m thinking about my own artwork and recalling certain lessons I learned in painting class, I think about the other students and wonder if they’re still at it. I got an answer from one of them through a Facebook invitation to a solo exhibition by Jess Hartley, a fellow student at Houghton College, my alma mater. While she didn’t finish her studies there (she graduated from Gordon College in Boston) her work is enough to make me proud to have studied with her. Her current show, titled “Confluence”, features abstract paintings that capture a movement reminiscent of oil in water. The layers of vibrant color seem to float on top of one another, gliding across the canvas and inciting the imagination.

This Friday starting at 8pm, the Greenpoint Gallery in Brooklyn, New York will feature works from “Confluence” as well as live performances and DJ. This is a great way to get to know the talented young artists in the New York City area and best of all, it’s completely free.